Add and manage LINE WORKS users from other companies

You can use LINE WORKS Message to have a conversation with LINE WORKS users from other companies.

However, only the members who are authorized by the administrator to connect with LINE WORKS users from other companies are allowed to use this function.

Add LINE WORKS users from other companies

To start a conversation with a LINE WORKS user from another company, you must first invite the user. The LINE WORKS user from another company must also be authorized by the administrator of the company to connect.

Mobile

  1. Tap ‘Contacts’.
  2. Tap .
  3. Tap ‘Add from Different Company’.
  4. You can immediately add a LINE WORKS user from another company as a contact if you know the user’s ID or have the user’s QR code.
    However, if you do not know the ID or have the QR code, you can send an invitation message to the user in four different ways shown below. Once the user receives the invitation message and clicks the link, the user can add you as a friend.

PC Web

  1. Click on the top.
  2. Click ‘Add contact’.
  3. Click ‘External contacts’.
  4. Enter the LINE WORKS ID of the user from other company in the search box to search for the ID.
  5. Click ‘Add’ to add the external LINE WORKS user’s contact information. If you do not know the ID of the user from other company, click ‘Invite using email’ to send an invitation email.

Find LINE WORKS users from other companies

You can find LINE WORKS users from other companies added to ‘External Message Contacts’ in Contacts.

LINE WORKS users from other companies are marked with in the list.

Mobile

  1. Tap ‘Contacts’.
  2. Tap .
  3. Tap ‘External’ to find the list of LINE WORKS users from other companies you have added.
  4. Tap the name to view details of the contact.

PC Web

  1. Click on the top.
  2. Click ‘External’ on the left menu to find the list of LINE WORKS users from other companies.
  3. Click the contact to view more information.

Edit contact of a LINE WORKS user from another company

You can add additional information of the LINE WORKS users from other companies you have added.

You can add information such as name, phone number, email address, group, company (i.e., team or position), website, birth date, and social media messenger ID (i.e., LINE, Facebook, and Twitter).

When a LINE WORKS user from another company is added, the user’s name is automatically added as the contact name and nickname. You can edit the user’s name afterward.

However, you cannot edit the profile photo and the nickname as they are synced to the LINE WORKS user from another company’s information.

LINE WORKS users from other companies you add are saved in ‘Clients/Partners’ and will be available in ‘All Contacts’ of the ‘Clients/Partners’ and ‘External’. If the contact is related to work, you can easily share the contact of the LINE WORKS user from other companies with company members.

Mobile

  1. Tap ‘Contacts’.
  2. Tap .
  3. Tap ‘External’.
  4. Tap the user you want to edit.
  5. Tap   .
  6. Tap ‘Edit’.
  7. Enter the contact information, and tap ‘Save’ to save changes.

PC Web

  1. Click on the top.
  2. Click ‘External’ on the left menu.
  3. Click the LINE WORKS user from another company to edit.
  4. Click in the detailed view of the contact on the right.
  5. Click ‘Edit’.
  6. Edit the contact information, and click ‘Save’.

Delete a contact of LINE WORKS user from another company

You can also delete LINE WORKS users from other companies you have added to your contacts. Once a LINE WORKS user from another company is deleted, you can no longer exchange messages with the user. However, if a LINE WORKS user of another company you added is in the message room with another company member, you cannot delete the user.

Mobile

  1. Tap ‘Contacts’.
  2. Tap .
  3. Tap ‘External’.
  4. Tap the contact you want to delete.
  5. Tap   .
  6. Tap ‘Delete’ to delete the contact.

PC Web

  1. Click on the top.
  2. Click ‘External’ on the left menu.
  3. Click the contact you want to delete.
  4. Click in the detailed view of the contact on the right.
  5. Click ‘Delete’ to delete the contact.

The deleted contact will be stored in the Trash of Clients/Partners.

Restore a deleted LINE WORKS user from another company

You can restore contacts you have deleted from the Trash of Clients/Partners.

Was this article helpful?
  • Yes
  • No
Sorry about that! Please tell us why
  • The information provided in the guide is wrong.
  • The information is difficult to understand.
  • There is insufficient information on specific devices. (e.g. There is no explanation on Mobile.)
  • Other

How can we make it better?

Thank you for your feedback!