Group

Group refers to a group of members you can communicate with and collaborate on projects or social clubs.

In Group Message Rooms, you can use different services for the group, such as message room, Note, Event, Folder, and Mailing List. The member who creates the group becomes the Group Master, and the Group Master can change the group setting and manage group members.

Group types

There are three types of group as below:

  • All groups
  • Open and private groups
  • Groups I manage and the groups I belong to

All groups

The list of all groups is a list of ‘My group’, ‘Group I Manage’, and ‘All groups’.

  • My group: The list of groups that you belong to
  • Group I Manage: The list of groups in which you are the Group Master
  • All groups: The list of all open groups, including ‘My group’, and ‘Group I Manage’.

You can view the name and members of the group listed here, however, you cannot enter the group’s message room.

You may not be a part of the groups, but you can send an email or an event invitation to all members of a specific group. If you want to join a group, you can send a request via email.

Open and private groups

Groups can be categorized into open groups and private groups depending on the privacy settings. Only the Group Masters of each group can change the privacy settings.

Users who do not belong to the group cannot see private groups in their list of all groups, search, and autocomplete results. You can find open groups you belong to in the list of all groups.

Groups I manage and the groups I belong to

Depending on your management level in the group, groups can be categorized into groups where you are the Group Master and groups where you are a member.

In Group of Contacts, you can view the groups where you are the Group Master in ‘Group I Manage’, and the groups where you are a member in ‘My group’.

Create a group

There are three different ways to create a new group:

  • Create a group in Contacts
  • Create a group in Message
  • Convert a message room with multiple members to a group

However, group creation may be limited depending on the administrator’s setting.

Create a group in Contacts

Create a group in Message

Convert a message room with multiple members to a group

You can convert a message room with at least three members, including yourself, into a group.

When converting a message room with multiple members to a group, Message is enabled by default. The existing message room will be converted to a Group Message Room with the previous chat history remained.

Change group setting and manage members

The Group Master can edit the basic information and change settings for group features. Also, the Group Master can manage the group members, such as adding or deleting them. The following are the information and features the Group Master can make changes. However, the Group Master cannot change the settings for group features if disabled by the administrator.

  • Basic group information setting
    • Group name
    • Group description
    • Add or delete Group Masters
    • Add or delete group members
  • Group features setting
    • Set whether to use Message
    • Set whether to use Message
    • Group privacy settings

Delete a group

Group Masters can delete their groups in the group setting. Deleting a group deletes all data stored in the group’s Message, Note, Event, Folder, and Mailing List and cannot be restored.

Leave a group

Group members cannot leave a Group Message Room by themselves.

Only the Group Master can add or delete group members.

If a group member is removed from the Group Message Room by the Group Master, that member can no longer view the messages shared in the Group Message Room. However, messages and photos shared by the member remain in the group.

Related Contents