Sync settings

CONTENTS

This function is only available for the Advanced plan.
For the Standard plan, you can use this function by applying for and using the Drive option.

Sync is a function that connects a folder on your PC with a folder in LINE WORKS Drive to update the changes on the PC web, mobile app, or Drive Explorer in real time to the folders on your PC.

You can select a folder among 'Shared Drive', 'Team/Group Folder',  'My Drive', and 'Shared with me' to sync with folders on your PC. Up to 3 PCs are supported.

    • Sync with a removable storage device
    • Sync with a virtual drive
    • Sync with Windows, Program Files folders and subfolders, and Desktop screen

 

Sync is online-only (marked with the icon). Therefore, you can access files in LINE WORKS Drive as folders on your PC only when you log in to Drive Explorer.

 

When set to 'Always keep on my PC', it is converted to a local state(marked with the icon), and you can access or edit files even when logged out.

Sync settings

You can have all folders and files in Drive synced in real-time with the folders on the PC.

You can select a folder from 'My Drive' and 'Folders shared with me' to sync with the PC folder. When you select the PC folder to update the data of LINE WORKS, the LINE WORKS Drive folder is created under the folder and the sync process begins.

However, the sync location must be specified as a subfolder of the disk partition (C Drive, etc.). An error occurs when selecting a disk partition as the sync location.

Windows

  1. Open the Drive Explorer.
  2. Log into LINE WORKS Drive.
  3. Right-click the Drive Explorer  icon on the taskbar.
  4. Click 'Settings'.
  5. Click the folder to sync under 'Shared Drive', 'Group Folder', 'My Drive', and 'Shared Folder' tabs.
  6. Click  on the left of the folder to sync.
    To change the My PC folder to sync, click 'Change' in 'Sync Folder Location' and select the PC folder.
  7. Click 'Finish' on the bottom.

macOS

  1. Open the Drive Explorer.
  2. Log into LINE WORKS Drive.
  3. Click the Drive Explorer  icon on the top menu bar.
  4. Click 'Preferences'.
  5. Click the 'Sync settings' tab.
  6. Click the folder to sync under 'Shared Drive', 'Group Folder', 'My Drive', and 'Shared Folder' tabs.
  7. Click  on the left of the folder to sync.
    To change the My PC folder to sync, click 'Change' in 'Sync Folder Location' and select the PC folder.
  8. Click 'Finish' on the bottom.

Turn off sync per folder

You can exclude infrequently used folders from syncing.

You can turn off sync to free up space on your PC and reduce sync time.

When sync is turned off, online-only folders and files are no longer visible on the PC, and local-only or temporary local-only folders and files are moved to the PC Trash.

To avoid deleting files, check the auto-delete file setting for PC Trash before unsyncing.

Even when sync is turned off, you can check folders and files in the LINE WORKS PC web and mobile app Drive.

Windows

  1. Open the Drive Explorer.
  2. Log into LINE WORKS Drive.
  3. Right-click the Drive Explorer  icon on the taskbar.
  4. Click 'Settings'.
  5. Click  on the left to the sync target folder.
  6. Click 'Save' on the bottom.

macOS

  1. Open the Drive Explorer.
  2. Log into LINE WORKS Drive.
  3. Click the Drive Explorer  icon on the top menu bar.
  4. Click 'Preferences'.
  5. Click the 'Sync settings' tab.
  6. Click  on the left to the sync target folder.
  7. Click 'OK' on the bottom.

Select sync status for each folder and file

For Drive Explorer of Windows and macOS Big Sur 11 or later, you can set the sync status for each file and folder in Drive Explorer.

You can set the sync status as one the following: local-only files that are synced at all times so that they are available offline (marked with the  icon), temporary local-only files that are synced temporarily for editing and reading (marked with the  icon), and online-only files that do not take up the storage capacity in the PC but can be downloaded online at any time (marked with the  icon). See icons by sync status.

  • Folders selected to sync are displayed as online-only status by default.
  • Files uploaded from your PC to the Sync Folder are temporarily displayed as local-only.
  • Files and folders inside a Local-only Folder are always synced as local-only.

Access files online only (Change to the online-only status)

Change the status of files and folders to online-only (marked with the  icon) to free up the storage capacity of the PC.

You can maintain the PC to its optimal status by storing data in an online space.

When you open files in the online-only status (marked with the  icon), the files are changed to temporary local-only files (marked with the  icon).

  1. Open the Drive Explorer.
  2. Log into LINE WORKS Drive.
  3. Right-click the file to change to online-only in the Sync Folder.
  4. Click 'Always access the file online'.

Always keep files on my PC (Change to the local-only status)

Change the online-only files and folders (marked with the  icon) to local-only files (marked with the  icon) so that they are saved and synced in the PC at all times.

You can use files and folders in the local-only status (marked with the  icon) in the offline status as well.

  1. Open the Drive Explorer.
  2. Log into LINE WORKS Drive.
  3. Right-click the file to change to local-only in the Sync Folder.
  4. Click 'Always keep the file on this device'.
Was this article helpful?
  • Yes
  • No
Sorry about that! Please tell us why
  • The information provided in the guide is wrong.
  • The information is difficult to understand.
  • There is insufficient information on specific devices. (e.g. There is no explanation on Mobile.)
  • Other

How can we make it better?

Thank you for your feedback!