Lock a file

CONTENTS

If you do not want other members to edit the files shared in Drive, you can use the ‘File lock’ function. When a file is locked, members other than the person who locked the file can only read the file and cannot edit the file asthe same name.

When a file is locked,will be displayed in the list.

Lock a file

Members with the permission to edit the shared file can lock shared files.

Mobile

  1. Tap  of the file to lock.
  2. Tap ‘More info’.
  3. Turn on the file lock.

PC Web

  1. Click  on the top.
  2. Hover the mouse over the file you want to lock.
  3. Click .
  4. Click ‘File lock’.

Drive Explorer

  1. Right-click the file you want to lock.
  2. Click ‘LINE WORKS Drive > File lock’.
    You can lock up to 10 files at once.

Check the file lock information

You can check the information on the locked file: the date when the file was locked and the person who locked the file.

Mobile

  1. Tap  next to the file to check the lock information.
  2. Tap ‘More info’.
  3. Check the date when the file was locked and the person who locked the file.

PC Web

  1. Click  on the top.
  2. Hover the mouse over the file to view the lock information.
  3. Click .
  4. Click ‘Locked file information’.

Drive Explorer

  1. Right-click the file to lock.
  2. Click ‘LINE WORKS Drive > Locked file information’.

Unlock a file

Members with the permission to edit can unlock the shared files. When a file is unlocked, the person who locked the file receives a notification.

Mobile

  1. Tap  next to the file you want to unlock.
  2. Tap ‘More info’.
  3. Turn off the file lock.

PC Web

  1. Click  on the top.
  2. Hover the mouse over the file to unlock.
  3. Click .
  4. Click ‘Locked file information’.
  5. Click ‘Unlock file’.

Drive Explorer

  1. Right-click the file to lock.
  2. Click ‘LINE WORKS Drive > Locked file information’.
  3. Click ‘Unlock file’.

Available functions for locked files

○: Available, : Available under specific conditions, ×: Not available

Member who locked the file
Other members (permission to edit)
Other members (permission to read)
Open ○*1
Upload △*2 ×
Unlock ×
Download
Send
Share link ×
Copy
See details
Move × × ×
Restore version × × ×
Restore from Trash × × ×
Rename × × ×
Delete × × ×

*1: When opening a file using Drive Explorer, you can only read the file.

*2: Upload is available if the file is saved in a different name.

Was this article helpful?
  • Yes
  • No
Sorry about that! Please tell us why
  • The information provided in the guide is wrong.
  • The information is difficult to understand.
  • There is insufficient information on specific devices. (e.g. There is no explanation on Mobile.)
  • Other

How can we make it better?

Thank you for your feedback!