Permission setting for Shared Drive

CONTENTS

This function is only available for the Advanced plan.
For the Standard plan, you can use this function by applying for and using the Drive option.

The Folder Master can assign members who can access the folder. Additional permissions to read or edit folders can only be granted to members who have access to the folder's parent folder. Permission can be given to each member separately.

Depending on the permissions granted to each member, the folder icon is displayed as one of below.

  • : Unauthorized folder
  • : Folders authorized to edit
  • : Folders authorized to read

For folders with no permission, you cannot access, read, or edit the folders.

Folder Master is granted with the permission to edit and access folders including its subfolders.

A Shared Drive folder that has permissions set cannot be moved or sent as a link.

Permission settings

You can select members who can access a folder and assign permissions.

Mobile

  1. In the Shared Drive, tapof the folder to set the permission.
  2. Tap 'Set Permission'.
  3. Turn on 'Accessible only to some members'.
  4. Add members to share. You can only add members who have permission to access the parent folder.
  5. Tap 'Confirm' to set the authority.

PC Web

  1. Right-click the folder you want to try changing the permission settings in the Shared Drive.
  2. Click 'Permission to edit'.
  3. Click 'Only the members in selected folder' in the scope of sharing.
  4. Add members to share. You can only add members who have permission to access the parent folder.
  5. Click 'Confirm'.

Remove permission

Mobile

  1. In the Shared Drive, tapof the folder to remove permission.
  2. Tap 'Set Permission'.
  3. Turn off 'Accessible only to some members'.
  4. Tap 'Confirm' to remove permission.

PC Web

  1. Right-click the folder you want to remove the permission in the Shared Drive.
  2. Click the 'Permission to edit' button.
  3. Click 'All members in “Folder name” folder' in the scope of sharing.
  4. Click 'Confirm'.

Set permission to read or edit for each member

When a member is added, the member is permitted to 'Edit' by default. If you need to change the authority to read only, you can do so in 'Permission to edit'. Members who are permitted to read can download, copy, or send the folder, but have no permission to edit it.

Mobile

  1. In the Shared Drive, tapof the folder to change the permission to edit.
  2. Tap 'Set Permission'.
  3. Tapon the right of the member to change the permission to edit.
  4. Tap 'Confirm'.

PC Web

  1. Right-click the folder you want to change the permission settings in the shared drive.
  2. Click the 'Permission to edit' button.
  3. Click the authority list on the right of the member you want to change the permission to edit.
  4. Click 'Confirm'.

Delete members (restrict access to folder)

If a folder member no longer needs to access the folder, you can restrict the member's access to the folder through 'Delete member'.

The member deleted from the members' list can no longer open files in the folder (marked with ).

Mobile

  1. In the Shared Drive, tapof the folder to edit the members' list.
  2. Tap 'Set Permission'.
  3. Tapon the right of the member to restrict access to the folder, and then tap 'Delete member'.
  4. Tap 'Confirm'.

PC Web

  1. In the Shared Drive, right-click the folder to edit the members' list.
  2. Click the 'Permission to edit' button.
  3. Click 'x' on the right of the member to restrict access to the folder.
  4. Click 'Confirm'.
Was this article helpful?
  • Yes
  • No
Sorry about that! Please tell us why
  • The information provided in the guide is wrong.
  • The information is difficult to understand.
  • There is insufficient information on specific devices. (e.g. There is no explanation on Mobile.)
  • Other

How can we make it better?

Thank you for your feedback!