Restore or permanently delete a file/folder in Trash

CONTENTS

Files and folders deleted from Drive are moved to separate Trash depending on the original location of folders and files. In Trash, you can view, restore, or permanently delete files and folders that you deleted.

Restore a deleted file/folder

You can restore files/folders from Trash. Files and folders you restore will move back to their original folder.

Mobile

  1. Tap  in Drive.
  2. Tap  to open Trash.
  3. Tap the folder and open the folder’s Trash.
  4. Tap  of the file or folder to restore.
  5. Tap ‘Restore’ to restore the file or folder.

PC Web

  1. Click  on the top.
  2. Click  on the left menu of Drive to open Trash.
  3. Check the checkboxes of the deleted files and folders.
  4. Click ‘Restore’ on the top.

Permanently delete a file/folder

You can permanently delete files and folders stored in Trash. When you delete a file in Trash of the Team/Group Folders or Shared Drives, the shared storage capacity in use will decrease as much as the deleted file size. You cannot restore permanently deleted files and folders.

Mobile

  1. Tap  in Drive.
  2. Tap  to open Trash.
  3. Tap the folder and open the folder’s Trash.
  4. Tap  of the file or folder to restore.
  5. Tap ‘Permanently delete’ to permanently delete the file or folder.

PC Web

  1. Click  on the top.
  2. Click  on the left menu of Drive to open Trash.
  3. Check the checkboxes of the deleted files and folders to delete permanently.
  4. Click ‘Delete’ on the top.
  5. Click ‘OK’.

Empty Trash

You can permanently delete all files and folders from Trash at once. Only the Folder Master can empty the Trash of Shared Drives and Team/Group Folders. When you delete a file in Trash of the Team/Group Folders or Shared Drives, the shared storage capacity in use will decrease as much as the deleted file size. You cannot restore permanently deleted files and folders.

Mobile

  1. Tap  in Drive.
  2. Tap  to open Trash.
  3. Tap the folder and open the folder’s Trash.
  4. Tap  to permanently delete all items in Trash.

On the mobile app, you can only empty Trash of ‘My Drive’.

PC Web

  1. Click  on the top.
  2. Click  on the left menu of Drive to open Trash.
  3. Click ‘Empty trash’ on the top.
  4. Click ‘OK’.

Set the period to auto-delete in Trash

When files and folders are deleted from Drive, they are stored in the Trash until permanently deleted after a set period.

You can change the setting in theSet the period to auto-delete in Trash’.

Was this article helpful?
  • Yes
  • No
Sorry about that! Please tell us why
  • The information provided in the guide is wrong.
  • The information is difficult to understand.
  • There is insufficient information on specific devices. (e.g. There is no explanation on Mobile.)
  • Other

How can we make it better?

Thank you for your feedback!