External group

The external group is a Group Message Room used to collaborate with LINE WORKS users from other companies. In External Group Message Rooms, you can use different features for the group, such as Message, Note, Event, and Folder. The member who creates the group becomes the Group Master. The Group Master can change the group setting and manage group members.

However, you cannot create external groups with LINE users. You can collaborate with LINE users in General Message Room.

Also, the shared storage capacity for the external group is used as below:

  • Message: Used from the domain of the user who uploads files, photos, videos, etc.
  • Services other than Message: Used from the domain of the Group Master who first created the external group.

Create an external group

The following are the ways to create an external group:

  • Create an external group in Contacts
  • Create an external group in Message
  • Convert a message room with multiple members to an external group
  • Create an external group in Admin by administrator

To create an external group, all group members must be the ‘Connected-members’ for external messaging. Members who are not the ‘Connected-members’ will be automatically removed from the group. Also, group members can create an External Group Message Room only if the authority to create group in Admin is set as ‘Also by members’.
Before creating an external group, the Group Master must first add the external LINE WORKS users to Contacts.

Create an external group in Contacts

You can create an external group with users from other companies in Contacts.

Create an external group in Message

You can create an external group with users from other companies in Message.

Convert a message room with multiple members to an external group

You can convert a message room with multiple members, including LINE WORKS users from other companies, to an external group. However, please note that you cannot convert the external group back to the general message room.

Change external group settings and manage members

The Group Master of an external group can edit the basic information and change settings for group features. Also, the Group Master for an external group can manage the group members, such as adding or deleting them. The Group Master of an external group can change the following information and feature settings. However, the Group Master cannot change the settings for group features if disabled by the administrator.

  • Basic external group information setting
    • External group name
    • External group description
    • Add or delete Group Master of external group
    • Add or delete external group members
  • External group features setting
    • Set whether to use Message
    • Set whether to use Note, Folder, and Event

Delete an external group

Group Master of external group can delete the external groups in the group setting. Deleting a group deletes all data stored in the group’s Message, Note, Event, and Folder, and cannot be restored. When you delete an external group, related data will be deleted from the companies of all group members at the same time.

Leave an external group

External group members cannot leave an External Group Message Room by themselves. Only the Group Master can add or delete group members. If a group member is removed from an External Group Message Room by the Group Master, that member can no longer view the messages shared in the External Group Message Room. However, messages and photos shared by the member remain in the external group.

If the administrator removes a member from ‘Connected-members’ for external messaging, the member is automatically removed from the external group.

Related Contents