Lock a file

If you do not want other members to edit the files shared in Drive, you can use the ‘File lock’ function. When a file is locked, members other than the person who locked the file can only read the file and cannot edit the file asthe same name.

When a file is locked,will be displayed in the list.

Lock a file

Members with the permission to edit the shared file can lock shared files.

Check the file lock information

You can check the information on the locked file: the date when the file was locked and the person who locked the file.

Unlock a file

Members with the permission to edit can unlock the shared files. When a file is unlocked, the person who locked the file receives a notification.

Available functions for locked files

○: Available, : Available under specific conditions, ×: Not available

Member who locked the file
Other members (permission to edit)
Other members (permission to read)
Open ○*1
Upload △*2 ×
Unlock ×
Download
Send
Share link ×
Copy
See details
Move × × ×
Restore version × × ×
Restore from Trash × × ×
Rename × × ×
Delete × × ×

*1: When opening a file using Drive Explorer, you can only read the file.

*2: Upload is available if the file is saved in a different name.

Related Contents