Add and manage LINE users

You can exchange 1:1 or group messages with external LINE users on LINE WORKS only if you are authorized by the administrator to connect with LINE users.

To chat with a LINE user, you must first invite the user.

Once the LINE user adds you as a friend on LINE, a message room is created automatically in LINE WORKS. In the message room, you can add the LINE user as an external contact. You can edit or delete the added LINE user in Contacts.

Your photo and name saved in the company directory will appear in your LINE profile, and your status message will only show your company name. The status message that displays the company name is fixed and cannot be changed.

Add a LINE contact

To start a conversation with a LINE user, you must first be added as a friend.

LINE users can add LINE WORKS users as friends, while LINE WORKS users can invite LINE users to LINE WORKS.

  • Invite LINE users from LINE WORKS
  • Add LINE WORKS users on LINE

Invite LINE users from LINE WORKS

When the administrator authorizes you to connect with LINE accounts, you will see the following information in which you can use to add LINE users to your contacts.

  • Message ID (same as your LINE WORKS ID)
  • QR Code
  • Add Contact URL

You can find information on LINE connection in My Profile.

You can also invite LINE users from Contacts or My Profile.

Invite via LINE

There are two ways to send an invitation message to LINE from LINE WORKS:

  • Send an invitation to LINE from Contacts
  • Send an invitation to LINE from My Profile

Send an invitation to LINE from Contacts

You can send an invitation message to LINE so that a LINE user can add you as a friend using the invitation link or by searching your ID.

Send an invitation to LINE from My Profile

To invite a friend via LINE, the LINE app must be installed in your device.

Invite via QR code

Invite via QR Code from Contacts

Invite via QR Code from My Profile

Copy invitation link

Copy invitation link from Contacts

Copy invitation link from My Profile

Invite via other apps

There are two ways to send an invitation message via other apps:

  • Invite via other apps from Contacts
  • Invite via other apps from My Profile

Invite via other apps from Contacts

Invite via other apps from My Profile

Add LINE WORKS users on LINE

LLINE users can add you as a friend using your profile information linked to LINE.

  • Add on LINE using QR code
  • Add on LINE using Add Contact URL
  • Add on LINE by searching Message ID

Add to LINE using QR code

You can show or send your LINE WORKS QR Code to a LINE user so that the user can use the QR code to add you as a friend.

Add to LINE using Add Contact URL

When a LINE user presses the URL that adds you as a friend, you are added as a friend on LINE.

Add on LINE by searching Message ID

You can send your ID to LINE users to let them add you as a friend.

This LINE ID is not for personal use, but a LINE WORKS ID that is used to add a friend on LINE.

LINE users who have received your ID can add you as a friend by searching the ID in Add friends > Search.

Find LINE contacts

You can find LINE users added to External Message Contacts in Contacts.

You can also find LINE users in the message list of Message.

Edit a LINE user contact

When a LINE user is added, the LINE user’s name is automatically added as the contact name and nickname.

You can add additional information including name, phone number, and email address. You cannot edit the profile photo and the nickname as they are synced to the LINE user information.

Since a number of the LINE users prefer nicknames (display name), editing their names in Contacts will make it easier for you to distinguish them.

LINE users you add are saved in ‘Clients/Partners’ and will be available in ‘All Contacts’ of the ‘Clients/Partners’ and ‘External’. If the contact is related to work, you can easily share the LINE user contact information with company members.

Delete a LINE user contact

You can also delete LINE users you have added to your contacts. When you delete LINE users, you can still exchange messages but they will be deleted in contacts.

However, if a LINE user you added is chatting with another company member, you cannot delete the LINE user.

The deleted contact will be stored in the Trash of Clients/Partners.

Restore a deleted LINE user

You can restore contacts you have deleted from the Trash of Clients/Partners.

Related Contents