Shared Drive, Team/Group Folder, Personal Folder, and Shared Folder

The following are the differences in Shared Drive, Team/Group Folder, Personal Folder (My Drive), and Shared Folder.
Icon for each folder is displayed as below:
  • Shared Drive: 
  • Team/Group Folder
  • Personal Folder (My Drive)
  • Shared Folder

Definitions of each folder and available plans

Shared Drive

Shared Drive is a folder for collaboration; you can store and share all company knowledge/business data.

The Drive service administrator can create and manage Shared Drive and specify the sharing scope according to the folder’s purpose.

  • Only the domain members set by the Drive service administrator can access the Shared Drive.
  • Folder Masters of Shared Drive can enhance security with permission setting (Edit, Read, or Access) by folder level.
  • Shared Drive can be set to private if necessary for archiving purposes.
  • The storage capacity for Shared Drive will use up the domain’s shared storage capacity.
  • Shared Drive is available for Basic and Premium plans that have the Drive activated.

Team/Group Folder

The Team/Group Folder can be used by members of the team added in the organizational chart or members of a group created for each project.

To use the Team/Group Folder, the leader of a team added in the Admin or the Group Master of an added group must enable the Folder feature.

  • Team/Group Folders can only be accessed by users who belong to the team or group.
  • The team leader or the Group Master can set the authority (permission to edit or read) for each folder.
  • The storage capacity used for the Team/Group Folder will use up the domain’s shared storage capacity.
  • Team/Group Folders are available in Free and Lite plans as the folders in Message.

Personal Folder (My Drive)

Personal Folders are personal spaces that are provided to all members of the domain. However, Personal Folder may not be available depending on the Admin setting.

  • Only the owner can access the Personal Folder.
  • Personal Folder users can share the folders to other users.
  • Personal Folder will use up your personal storage capacity, not the shared storage capacity.
  • Personal Folders are available in Basic and Premium plans with Drive activated.

Shared Folder

Shared Folder is a folder shared by a member who uses a Personal Folder with another member. When you share a folder, the owner of the folder becomes the master of that folder.

  • Shared Folders can only be accessed by the owner of the Personal Folder and the members that the owner shared the folder to.
  • Shared Folders appear as ‘Sharing folders’ to the folder owner and as ‘Folder Shared’ to the members that the owner shared the folder to.
  • The master of the folder in sharing can change the authority (permission to edit or read) of the members that the folder was shared.
  • The storage capacity used for the Shared Folder will use up the personal storage capacity of the user who has shared the folder.
  • Shared Folders are available in Basic and Premium plans with Drive activated.

Specifics for each folder

Link sharing

Permission to share the links of each folder may depend on the Admin setting, setting for each folder, and the authority to edit.

  • Shared Drive allows all users to share files and folders if the Admin enables link-sharing for Shared Drive and sharing of the links in the given Shared Drive.
  • For Team/Group Folders, users can share files and folders if the administrator has enabled the link sharing for Team/Group Folders, and the team leader (Team Folder) or the master (Group Folder) has enabled the link sharing.
  • For Personal Folders, users can share files and folders if the administrator has enabled the link sharing for Personal Folders.
  • For Shared Folders, users can share Personal Folders if the administrator has enabled the link sharing for Personal Folders and if the user is authorized to edit the folder to share.

Move files

You may be restricted from moving folders or files depending on the folder types.

  • Files and folders in a Shared Drive can only be moved within the Shared Drive.
  • Files and folders in a Team/Group Folder can only be moved within the Team/Group Folder.
  • Files and folders in a Personal Folder can only be moved within My Drive.
  • Files and folders in a Shared Folder can only be moved within the Shared Folder by the user who has the authority to edit.

Delete files

Files and folders deleted from a folder are managed in different ways depending on the folder types.

  • Files and folders deleted from Shared Drive are moved to Trash of the Shared Drive. Any member can access and restore the deleted files and folders.
  • Files and folders deleted from Team/Group Folders are moved to Trash of the Team/Group Folder. Only members of the Team/Group Folder can access and restore the deleted files and folders.
  • Files and folders deleted from Personal Folders are moved to Trash of My Drive. Only the owner of the folder can access and restore the deleted files and folders.
  • Files and folders deleted from Shared Folders are moved to Trash of the master’s My Drive. Only the master can access and restore the deleted files and folders.

Icons for each permission

In Drive, you can check the difference in permission status for each folder with the folder icon.

  General Shared Drive/Team/Group Folder without set permission
  Shared Drive/Team/Group Folder with permission to edit
  Drive/Team/Group Folder with permission to read
  Shared Drive Folder without permission to access
  Personal Folder that has not been shared
  Folder shared with others
  Folder shared to me and has permission to edit
  Folder shared to me and has permission to read

 

The following are the tasks you can perform per each folder permission. However, folders with permissions set on Shared Drives are restricted from moving and link sharing even with the permission to edit.

Task you can perform for each permission:

  • Permission to edit: Upload, download, edit, copy, move, share and delete files and folders
  • Permission to read: File download and copy

Related Contents