Message general settings

CONTENTS

Change the settings for Message services.

(This setting is for the Lite, Basic or Premium plans.)

Function settings

You can change the settings of the following:

  • Display status icons
  • Check members who read the message
  • Message recall period
  • Use voiceㆍvideo call and screen share

Display status icon

Choose whether to allow members to use the status icon display function. The status icon display function allows members to set their own status to busy/away/off work/absent. The status icon is displayed in the profile and member list of message rooms.

  1. Select ‘Service’ from the left to expand the menu and press ‘Message’ to access the page. On mobile, tap the button to access the menus. 
  2. Press ‘General’ on the top.
  3. Press on the right from the ‘Show status icon’ of the ‘Function’.
  4. Turn on the ‘Show status icon’ function.
  5. At the top right, press ‘Save’ to apply changes.

Check members who read the message

Select whether to allow members to view the list of members who read the message.

By turning on the ‘Can see members who read the message for my messages only’ setting, the member who sent the message can see the members who read it.

By turning on the ‘Show read member list to everyone’ setting, everyone in the message room can check who read a message or not.

You can turn on the ‘Show read member list to everyone’ only if the ‘Can see members who read the message for my messages only’ setting is on. You cannot turn on ‘Show read member list to everyone’ only by itself.

  1. Select ‘Service’ from the left to expand the menu and press ‘Message’ to access the page. On mobile, tap the button to access the menus. 
  2. Press ‘General’ on the top.
  3. Press right to the ‘Show read member’ field of the ‘Function’.
  4. Turn on the ‘Can see members who read the message for my messages only’.
    If you turn on the ‘Can see members who read the message for my messages only’ setting, you can also set ‘Show read member list to everyone’ to in use.
  5. At the top right, press ‘Save’ to apply changes.

Message recall period

You can change the time limit of a message recall. You can select between ‘1 hour’ and ‘24 hours’. After selecting, you can recall a message you sent within the set time.

Message recall prevents all message room members from viewing the contents of the recalled message. However, they will know that there is a recall message.

However, messages sent to LINE cannot be retrieved.

  1. Select ‘Service’ from the left to expand the menu and press ‘Message’ to access the page. On mobile, tap the button to access the menus. 
  2. Press ‘General’ on the top.
  3. Press right to the ‘Message recall period’ of the ‘Function’.
  4. Select the time limit of a message recall.
  5. At the top right, press ‘Save’ to apply changes.

Voiceㆍvideo call and screen share

Set whether to allow the use of free videoㆍvoice calls, screen share in the PC app among LINE WORKS users of your company.

  1. Select ‘Service’ from the left to expand the menu and press ‘Message’ to access the page. On mobile, tap the button to access the menus. 
  2. Press ‘General’ on the top.
  3. Press right to the ‘Voice/Video call and screen share’ of the ‘Function’.
  4. Turn on ‘Voice/video call and screen share’.
  5. At the top right, press ‘Save’ to apply changes.

Manage message/file

Change settings for messages and attached files.

The set value applies to the PC web, PC app, and mobile app.

However, if the period is set shorter than the current setting, the files stored more than the set period are deleted.

Message storage/search period

Set how long you can store and search text messages.

You can check and search the contents of exchanged messages during the set period.

Messages before the set period will be automatically deleted.

  1. Select ‘Service’ from the left to expand the menu and press ‘Message’ to access the page. On mobile, tap the button to access the menus.
  2. Press ‘General’ on the top.
  3. Press right to the ‘Message store/search period’ of the ‘Manage message/file’.
  4. Select the period.
  5. At the top right, press ‘Save’ to apply changes.

Photo/file download period

Set the period in which members can download files or photos shared in the message room.

When you change the settings, the changes apply to the previously uploaded files or photos. If you shorten the period set previously, the files stored more than the set period are deleted and shared storage capacity increases accordingly.

However, if you set it longer than the ‘Message store/search period’, you can only view and download photos/files within the ‘Message store/search period’.

  1. Select ‘Service’ from the left to expand the menu and press ‘Message’ to access the page. On mobile, tap the button to access the menus. 
  2. Press ‘General’ on the top.
  3. Press right to the ‘Photo/file download period’ of the ‘Manage message/file’.
  4. Select the period.
  5. At the top right, press ‘Save’ to apply changes.

Maximum size for file exchange

Set the maximum size per file attachment in the message room.

By setting the maximum file size small, you can prevent members from exhausting the shared storage capacity without knowing.

Files that exceed the size limit are not transferable.

  1. Select ‘Service’ from the left to expand the menu and press ‘Message’ to access the page. On mobile, tap the button to access the menus. 
  2. Press ‘General’ on the top.
  3. Press right to the ‘Maximum file size that can be sent’ of the ‘Manage message/file’.
  4. Select the maximum size for file exchange.
  5. At the top right, press ‘Save’ to apply changes.

Screen settings

Apply PC Web Message Simple Mode

The Administrator can select whether to set the Simple Mode for everyone or to give each member an option to apply it or not.

If your network speed or PC specification is low, you can apply the Simple Mode for the smooth and stable LINE WORKS experience. Note that in the Simple Mode, profile photos on the member and message list are not available. Also, some functions may be limited.

  1. Select ‘Service’ from the left to expand the menu and press ‘Message’ to access the page. On mobile, tap the button to access the menus. 
  2. Press ‘General’ on the top.
  3. Press right to the ‘Apply PC Web Message Simple Mode’ of the ‘Screen settings’.
  4. To allow each member to choose whether to apply the Simple Mode, select ‘Give option on whether to use Simple Mode (Provide Normal Mode as default) ‘. For the Administrator to set the Simple Mode for everyone, select ‘Enforce Simple Mode’.
  5. At the top right, press ‘Save’ to apply changes.

If you allow the members to have an option to use the Simple Mode, the Normal Mode is set as the default. It takes about 10 minutes for the changes to apply.

RELATED CONTENTS

Was this article helpful?
  • Yes
  • No
Sorry about that! Please tell us why
  • The information provided in the guide is wrong.
  • The information is difficult to understand.
  • There is insufficient information on specific devices. (e.g. There is no explanation on Mobile.)
  • Other

How can we make it better?

Thank you for your feedback!